Presidential Fitness Runs 
Washington DC 
Monday, May 31, 2010
Tidal Basin Run, a partner of the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports, hosted another edition of its Presidential Fitness Runs on a sweltering Memorial Day afternoon.
Ted Poulos repeated as the winner of the George Washington One Mile.  Karen Harvey, the first female finisher in the race, set a new course record for women.  
Luis Navarro won the pineapple prize as the overall winner of the inaugural edition of Martin Van Buren 8K.  The ageless Tami Graf was the women's winner.  
Kirk Gordon earned the respect of his fellow participants in overcoming the heat to triumph in the John Tyler 10K race.
  We thank James Scarborough for handling the race timing and finish card duties, and John Way's mother Laurie Way for her post-race recycling efforts.
  Kudos to Chris Farmer for another round of spectacular post-race brownies.  
  Results compiled by Peter Blank.
  Next Presidential Fitness Runs: 1M, 3K, 8K, and 10K, on Monday, July 5, at 12 noon (limited to 25 participants)
  Special National Running Day edition of the Tidal Basin Run:  Wednesday, June 2, 2010 at noon 
  Next regular monthly Tidal Basin Run: Wednesday, June 16, 2010 at noon 
  Presidential Fitness Runs
  Washington DC
  Monday May 31, 2010

 #  Name                           G Age City State                Time
    --------------------------     - --- -----------------------  -----
 George Washington One Mile
 1  Ted Poulos                     M  48 McLean VA                 6:38
 2  Peter Blank                    M  55 Annandale, VA             6:58
 3  Alan Tominack                  M  37 Savage, MD                7:37
 4  Karen Harvey                   F  53 Ellicott City, MD         8:04
 5  Tim Ramsey                     M  51 Alexandria, VA           10:23
 Martin Van Buren 8K
 1  Luis Navarro                   M  33 Ellicott City, MD        37:26
 2  John Way                       M  45 Mongomery Village, MD    40:12
 3  John Palks                     M  60 Bowie, MD                43:00
 4  Chris Farmer                   M  31 Columbia, MD             45:29
 5  Tami Graf                      F  73 Lusby, MD                59:01
 John Tyler 10K
 1  Kirk Gordon                    M  54 Mitchellville, MD      1:05:48